top of page

What are Chakras?

Updated: Jul 29, 2023

Image of a person sitting cross legged on the yoga mat. Colors showing each chakra in their body lining up in balance
Chakras balance

Hi everyone. I wanted to do a series on chakras to coincide with the theme of the month at the shop, for September 2020. The next few weeks I will dive into the chakras, trying my best to explain what each one is and how they can affect your emotions and life, when blocked, overactive and balanced. This week is a rough overview of the whole system,

So what are Chakras? You might have heard of them before if you have ever been around spiritual practitioners or even masseurs, when you get a massage. Chakras are the energy centers in our body that help the ebb and flow of energy, circle through our being. Chakra means disk, in Sanskrit (primary language in some villages of India). The disks of energy swirl throughout your body interconnecting to each other, creating a energy current. When this energy current gets disrupted it becomes unbalanced and that is where the discomfort begins with your emotions and health. Now I am not saying you shouldn't seek medical help. I never will, but this is another way to tap into your body's natural rhythm, to figure out why you are feeling the way you are.

This GIF is a rough draft of what the wheels of the chakra look like. As you can see there are 7 main Chakra points. There are other pictures that show the energy flow as if it is a DNA strand (interesting, Throughout this series, I will go over each of them, so you and even I, can have a better grasp as to what each one means to us.

Here are the names of each Chakra. Let's start at the bottom of our body and work our way up. The reasoning is that the root chakra tends to hold our past (childhood) So everything we learned as a child, on how to live, is here and when a Chakra healing is being done, it normally starts here, as well. (Cause we all have childhood trauma, in one way or another. I know I do.)

Chakra Names in layman's terms and Sanskrit, with brief meaning and color correspondence :

Image of root chakra
Rooted chakra

Root Chakra, Muladhara Is at the base of your spine. survival, security, stability. the color red represents it.

Image of Sacral Chakra
Sacral Chakra

Sacral Chakra, Svadhisthana in below the navel. creativity, sexuality. the color orange represents it.

Image of solar plexus chakra
Solar Plexus Chakra

Solar Plexis, Manipura, Between navel and solar plexis. power, self esteem, strength. the color yellow represents it.

Image of Heart Chakra
Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra, Anahata, Center of the chest. Love, acceptance, compassion. the color green represents it.

Image of throat chakra
Throat Chakra

Throat Chakra, Vishuddha, Throat. communication, self expression. the color blue represents it.

Image of thrid eye chakra
Thrid eye chakra

Third eye Chakra, Ajna, Middle of forehead. intuition, inner eye, evaluate. the color purple represents it.

Image of Crown chakra
Crown chakra

Crown Chakra , Sahasrara, top of the head. Knowing, connection to spirit and the universe. the color of the chakra can be violet or white.

That is the run down of the chakras and what energies/ feelings they effect in your body. When your chakras are out of balance you can feel it. If you are feeling unfocused and your mind is hazy that is your third eye out of balance or blocked. Your feeling your voice isn't being heard, because you're afraid to speak up, that is your throat chakra blocked. You have primal impulses that you can't seem to control (sexual) that is an overactive sacral chakra.

There are many ways to get you chakras back in balance. You can eat foods that coordinate with the color of chakra that is out of balance, to provide energy to it. Carrots for your sacral chakra, spinach for your heart, so on. Stay tuned for more posts this month as I dive further into what the chakras are all about.

If you would like to learn more before I have a chance to post more you can always check out what I have in my shop for books and pamphlets, that can help you figure out how to go about doing it on your own. There are wonderful practitioners in you area and online that can help you., as well.

Until next time, be anything you want, but most of all be kind.

Bright Blessings, Sarah Petrin

13 views0 comments


bottom of page